Join Us Email Page
American Express NGen Leadership Award

Congratulations to the 2014 American Express NGen Award Finalists! Click here to learn more.

Join the Finalists for a Twitter Town Hall on May 1 from 2:00 p.m. to 3:00 p.m. EDT to learn about their journeys and to be part of a conversation about best practices for nonprofit leadership. Follow #NGenLeads to participate.

2014 American Express NGen Leadership Award Finalists

Aspen Baker Sarah Kastelic Courtney Macavinta Henry Timms Sina Vann
Aspen Baker
Sarah Kastelic
National Indian Child Welfare Association
Courtney Macavinta
The Respect Institute
Henry Timms
Sina Vann
Somaly Mam Foundation

Read their stories

The American Express NGen Leadership Award honors one accomplished nonprofit or philanthropic leader age 40 or under who has already demonstrated significant impact in addressing society's critical needs. 

The recipient of this award must also:

  • Demonstrate transformative impact in his or her field, beyond just his or her organization;
  • Display a proven ability to collaborate in innovative, inclusive ways;
  • Show how s/he identifies needs, generates solutions, and assesses progress toward goals; and
  • Model leadership presence.

This award extends American Express and Independent Sector’s commitment to and support of emerging leaders. To learn more about NGen's programmatic offerings, please visit the NGen: Moving Nonprofit Leaders from Next to Now homepage.

Learn more about past recipients.

If you have questions regarding the award, please email

2013 Recipient - Sarah Johnson

Sarah JohnsonIndependent Sector announced Sarah Johnson as the 2013 recipient of the American Express NGen Leadership Award. Sarah is a collaborative leader who believes performing arts organizations have a responsibility as cultural citizens to demonstrate their public value and help expose various audiences to the arts.

Sarah is director of Carnegie Hall's Weill Music Institute that serves over 400,000 people annually with programs and partnerships that allow people of all ages and backgrounds to explore their potential as performers and audience members.

Sarah received the award during the John W. Gardner Leadership Dinner in September at the IS National Conference in New York City.

Watch her acceptance speech.

The award is generously supported by the American Express Foundation.

Check out videos from Sarah Johnson's presentation at the 2013 National Conference


Join IS Today